Awards: NMC Celebrates You

Purpose: NMC Celebrates you by fostering a spirit of celebration and recognition throughout your journey.

Core Value: Excellence

NMC Awards

Awarding our employees for their everyday passion and hardwork is what we are about! For more information on any of the awards that are given out please email,


Salvation Army Award Mike Evert was invited to the Salvation Army Volunteer Appreciation and Awards Breakfast on May 19th, 2018.  Nebraska Methodist College received the “Champion Bell Ringer College” award for our hard service last November.

Mike Evert pictured with Ramona Arthur, Divisional Director of Volunteer Services and Kay Weinstein, Metro Area Volunteer Director.


Ruth Berggren Elliott Master Teacher Award is an annual award given to a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in teaching as determined by student’s. Students are to write a nomination letter that must address one or more of the following criterion:

  • Teaching Effectiveness
  • Student Engagement
  • Faculty Communication
  • Creation of positive learning environment

We are asking students to really reflect on all your learning experiences with the various faculty here at NMC, whether it be in an undergraduate or graduate course and in an on-ground or online course format. Write a nomination to let us know who and how you have been impacted by a Master Teacher.

Past Winners

  • 2018 Dr. Kari Wade
  • 2017 Dr. Melissa Kimmerling
  • 2016 Sarah Shomshor
  • 2015 Abbie Hallgren
  • 2014 Dr. Heather Henrichs & Harsha Sharma


Staff of the Year is an annual award given to an NMC staff member to recognize outstanding contributions in a co-curricular, support, or administrative function that helps to engage the student experience and is determined by the students.

Past Winners

  • 2018 Jackie Lee
  • 2017 Michael Schweikert
  • 2016 Victoria Campbell
  • 2015 Erika Pritchard
  • 2014 Michael Schweikert


Jean Schmidt Beyer Spirit Award is the legacy and gift of Dr. Jean Beyer. This award represents the spirit we wish to honor and nurture here at NMC, which creates a sense of purpose and belonging for all college personnel. Nominees are employees who actively seek to build relationships with colleagues and students alike.  This is demonstrated through Nebraska Methodist College’s Core Values, as outlined below. Winners are chosen from the Dove recognition nominations from the previous year and announced at May Forum.


  • Caring:  Demonstrates caring and compassion to students and the NMC community.
  • Excellence:  Consistently strives for excellence in all they do and inspires colleagues and students to excel.
  • Holism:  Attends to personal spirituality and encourages that in others.
  • Learning:  Actively participates in opportunities for professional and personal growth and encourages others to do the same.
  • Respect:  Respects others and is respected by students and the NMC community.

Past Winners

  • 2018 Gina Wagner


Light of Wellness Award – Presented by WELLCOM

Past Winners

  • 2018 Samantha Barnhart
  • 2017 Sarah Stenger
  • 2016 Melissa Kimmerling
  • 2015 Lisa Fuchs
  • 2013 Cathy Beck


Faculty Senate Peer Recognition of Teaching and/or Service and Scholarship is an annual award provided to a NMC faculty member based on excellence in teaching and/or excellence in service and scholarship as determined by the members of the Faculty Senate General Assembly. Nominees for excellence in teaching should demonstrate qualities that reflect NMC’s four key areas of teaching and learning; communication, collaboration, active learning, and respect. Nominees for excellence in service and/or scholarship should demonstrate qualities in a non-teaching role that reflect service to community, committee(s), research, and/or peers.

Past Winners

  • 2018 Keisha Bosan
  • 2017 Dr. Heather Henrichs
  • 2016 Anna Nesheim
  • 2015 Echo Perlman
  • 2014 Colleen Steinhauser


The Horizon Award is the most prestigious recognition award presented by NMC Alumni Association. One alumni per year per category may be recognized for outstanding achievement in one of the following categories. An alum may receive the Horizon Award only once in their lifetime. Winners are honored at the Alumni Reunion Dinner in October. Horizon Award Categories:

  • Clinical Excellence
  • Education
  • Humanitarian Efforts
  • Volunteerism
  • Leadership

Past Winners:

  • 2017 Blake Smith (2012 Graduate)
  • 2016 Paula Stapleton
  • 2016 Greg Opseth
  • 2015 John Plank
  • 2014 Andrea Staton


Honorary Alumni is bestowed on individuals who have adopted the College as their own through uncommon and outstanding service, substantial and continuing commitment, and loyalty. In recognition of the expressions of goodwill, the Alumni Association annually inducts those who are particularly deserving to be recognized as honorary members of the Alumni Association. Honorary membership in the NMC Alumni Association is reserved for individuals whose interest and service make such a membership significant. Honorary membership shall confer all membership privileges and responsibilities. Winners are honored at the Alumni Reunion Dinner in October.

Past Honorary Inductees:

  • 2017 Spence Stevens
  • 2016 Dr. Deb Carlson and Leo Adam Biga
  • 2015 Lee Harlan
  • 2014 Richard Hahn, Victoria Campbell, Dr. Roger Anderson


You Touched My Life Award is an annual award given to an individual that made a difference in someone’s life and will never be forgotten. It can be large, like making a discovery that significantly made a difference in their overall health and/or recovery. It can be a helping hand, like a person who went above and beyond while caring for an individual. This award was established by Lee Harlan in 2017.

Past Winners:

  • 2017 Theresa Alvarado (1978 Graduate)


Exemplary Teacher The United Methodist Church: General Board of Higher Education and Ministry is an annual award given to an NMC faculty member to recognize outstanding contributions to the learning arts and to the institution as determined by the students. This award helps to express the church’s support of and appreciation for faculty who have demonstrated exemplary leadership, excellence in teaching, service to students and commitment to education.

Past Winners

  • 2017 Lori Shaw-Warren
  • 2016 Shannon Struby

A Story That Matters

A year or two after I started, Deb, Dennis and I were putting the agenda together for Forum. They wanted to do something uplifting and special. They mentioned a set of videos that the College presented to all employees years ago, called “Celebrate What’s Right with the World.” DeWitt Jones, long time decorated photographer of National Geographic, took what he knew of the world, combined with his positive look-at-the-world-in-a-positive-fashion point of view and created a series of videos. We showed the initial video at the January Forum, and continued a year of ‘celebration’ showing succeeding videos at the next three Forums, bringing the year to a close when we sponsored the final video at our first Forum at the Henry Doorly Zoo.

This initiative was so successful, the College continued that mindset, of Celebrating What’s Right. I believe this initiative helped people be in a place in which You Matter was a natural next step. This is the place I work. This is why I continue to work here. Every day we try to celebrate what is right with the world! -Cathy Beck